Silk bias cut dress for Summer

When you find the perfect silk, you really just have to make the perfect dress. I actually had another dress in mind for this silk, but when it arrived on my doorstep, I realised that it deserved something a little better.

It’s a silk satin by Trina Turk from The Fabric Store. It has a lovely, subtle texture to the good side, and the fabric is a beautiful weight that doesn’t require lining. It’s the perfect silk for a bias cut dress!

I used a design I copied from a RTW dress a few years ago. However, I lined the front and back bodice and turned it into a halter neck instead.

I love this dress A LOT. And I should. It’s the perfect fit. I guess that’s why so many of us sew though, isn’t it. How amazing does it feel to slip on a dress that fits like a glove, custom-made to your unique shape only?

3 thoughts on “Silk bias cut dress for Summer

  1. Becky

    This is STUNNING. You should love it. The fabric is gorgeous, the design is sexy and timeless, and the fit looks perfect. I think this dress just screams designer/bespoke. I am most impressed with your vision and your outcome.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Sharon Collins

    As usual, you continue to surprise me with your talent, Debbie! The dress is beautiful & fits you perfectly. You are an awesome, inspiring, & wonderful lady. I can’t wait to see more of your beautiful clothing. I know summer will have few projects while you & your girls share your love of swimming. If I miss a chance to comment the next few months. Have a wonderful summer. Planning a trip to KS later this year. Stay safe & wet!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Debbie Iles Post author

      Oh thank you Sharon! It’s pretty hot in KC this weekend. Summer has truly arrived here (but at least it is quickly heating up those outside pools for us ;-)). I hope I can sneak in a bit of sewing, but you are right, I’ll forsee a lot of swimming in the next 6-8 weeks… Have a great summer yourself!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a comment