Burdastyle paper bag waist pants

This was one of those projects that I made at a completely inappropriate time. I made them about four months ago, just as the Winter weather was starting to kick in. I still haven’t worn them. It’s not because I don’t want to though. Loose linen pants just cannot be equated with a Kansas winter, inside or outside. It’s still far to cold to wear them (-11C today) but I can now see Spring on the horizon, which is possibly why I finally found the inspiration to take some photos. They will make the most delicious Spring pants ever!

Remember the military green shorts I made at the end of Summer? I used the same Burdastyle (111A) pattern for these. I made exactly the same adjustments, but just refined them a little. I shortened the top ruffle by about one inch. It was just a smidgen too high in the shorts. I love the drama of the shorts (and will still wear them) but a too high ruffle flops down a bit by the end of the day. Perhaps a bit of interfacing would help this out though.

Like the shorts, these are also made with beautiful milled linen from the Fabric Store. The shade of pink is so pretty. There’s a lot of pale pinks coming out in Spring RTW right now. Perhaps that’s influencing me a little with colours. I do like a good neutral though.

Honestly, I can’t remember if I lengthened these pants or not. I may have (I usually do with everything), but I do remember cutting off some at the end as well. I think the pattern is designed to be very long in the legs.

On another note, I haven’t really been in a position to sew much over the past six months but I think things are slowly changing. I purchased and printed an Oslo Coat last night. I’m hoping to get it taped up and ready to cut by the weekend. There’s a good three months of coat weather left here, so I I think I’ll sneak it in just in time. For my Australian friends, Spring in Kansas is generally colder than a Sydney Winter, with the odd bit of frost and occasional snow dustings.

After this, I’m planning on making the new dress pattern by Tessuti Fabrics. How lovely is the Claudia dress?! I was smitten the moment I saw this one. I’m hoping to find enough linen scraps in my stash. I have a feeling I may need to get a little creative though. What’s in your sewing queue? Are you still sewing for Winter (or Summer, my friends downunder)?

6 thoughts on “Burdastyle paper bag waist pants

  1. Becky

    I think these pants look terrific on you, but alas, all of us are not tall and slim. I think I would probably look like a paper bag in these. I hope it warms up soon for both of us. I am very tired of winter this year. Nice to see a post from you!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Debbie Iles Post author

      Thanks Becky! I’m over Winter too. It’s been a bit colder this Feb than last year! I’m hoping it will warm up soon!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Megan

    First time commenting on your blog! Love your style! I do quite like the Claudia dress, not so keen on their other patterns so far. So many things in my sewing queue, a colourful tea party dress for my 3 year old and a cinderella dress. Plus some tees for a birthday boy this sunday (eeek!). I really need to sew myself some summer things for a Gold Coast holiday in june though!
    Look forward to your next post!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Debbie Iles Post author

      Thank you Megan! Enjoy your holiday to the Gold Coast! At first I thought you were referring to my home town in Australia, but you wouldn’t be needing (many) Summer clothes there in June! 😉

      Like

      Reply

Leave a comment